The Six-Stage Theory of Disease

If prevention is not successful, or if a person already has symptoms, determining the stage of a disease is essential in creating an effective treatment plan. In addition, flexibility and adaptability are required, since contagious illnesses caused by viral pathogens can change rapidly. The Taiyang (Greater Yang) stage is often where symptoms begin. In traditional Chinese medicine, this stage is often referred to as Wind Cold. When this occurs, the aforementioned preventive measures should be discontinued, and a different strategy is employed. While the Taiyang stage is extremely complex and has multiple treatment possibilities, I will describe some of the more common patterns and herbal strategies. If the disease can be treated at this stage, it is often possible to prevent it from going into deeper stages.

This stage has symptoms of chills and an aversion to cold that are difficult to relieve with warm clothes or blankets. The patient may also feel somewhat feverish, but the chills are still much more prominent. There may be body aches, especially in the shoulders, neck, and back of the head. There can be nasal congestion or sinus pressure. If there is mucus, it will be clear.

These are some of the formulas that can be very effective in treating this stage:

Ma Huang Tang (Ephedra Decoction)

Xiao Qing Long Tang (Minor Blue-Green Dragon Decoction)

Gui Zhi Tang (Cinnamon Twig Decoction)

Chuan Xiong Cha Tiao San (Ligusticum and Green Tea Powder)

Jing Fang Bai Du San (Schizonepeta and Siler Formula to Overcome Pathogenic Influences Powder)

Ge Gen Tang (Kudzu Decoction)

Xin Yi San (Magnolia Flower Powder)

Qing Bi Tang (Benefit the Nose Decoction)